Nimbu Mirchi and More…

Aishani is a fun-loving teen with something much more interesting than skeletons in her cupboard, hand-made funky accessories for you and your room! If quirky is your style, then Nimbu Mirchi is what you need.  Like she likes to put it as an idea that changed her life. In conversation with Aishani Hazare, she tells us how she got around to doing it and how making dream catchers turned out to be her dream.

1234801_1388560671461676_4899514464932223480_n

1) How did Nimbu Mirch happen?

It’s quite an interesting story, in my fifth semester of my course (BMM) we had a subject called direct marketing. We got a project to make indigenous articles and set up a stall in college and market it in a way that resulted in maximum sales. I had recently made a dream-catcher for my room, so I pitched in the idea with my group. One thing lead to the other we started up a stall and introduced earrings too. And that’s how it all began!

11188453_1420746664909743_3500525123793174462_n

2) Why the name Nimbu Mirchi?

It doesn’t have any symbolism as such, we were just brain storming for a name as quirky as our products. Nimbu mirchi captures the zest and vibrancy that we were meaning to portray. Also, back then we were only selling dream-catchers which puts away negativity and so does nimbu mirch!

3) So what does your range include? How to buy it?

Well, it’s still in a very nascent stage, so for now we have earrings, tealights, dreamcatchers, scarves, tealights, wall-frames, chandelier and some neck-pieces. I’m still looking for a small place to open in Andheri or Bandra, until then it’s online. (For Mumbai customers only).

11045426_1394104914240585_8331139326533485018_n

4) What are you future ventures?

Apart from a small store, I’m looking into making belts, fancy diaries, bookmarks, bracelets and last but not the least homemade lip balm.

5) Is all this still going to be a one woman show?

Ha-ha, no not really. I have a few friends helping me with design and the handicrafts. Once we have the store up and running I might look in for employees as such.

IMG-20150508-WA0006

6) You were given a stall at the Kala Ghoda Art festival, Mumbai, how did that go?

That was an amazing experience with people around the world and Mumbai flocking to my stall and appreciating my work. It was after that I realised that I should pursue my creativity and take this venture forward. The feedback was very motivating and well the money too!

7) Your advice for all the young and talented entrepreneurs?

I’m still in no position to advice those of my age, below and above. But I would like to say that it’s never too late to follow your dream. Always do what makes you happy and strive for excellence.

10421411_1420746708243072_4941784072687286008_n

You can follow her on Facebook and make sure you check out her Facebook page Nimbu Mirchi . And till then well, carpe Diem! Seize the Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

