Exploring the world of Design and Fashion with Shilpis – Fashion Boutique

” I always wanted to start my own Boutique” said Mala Bhattacharjya, the owner of Shilpis – Fashion Boutique. But she didn’t know how to make her dream come true. She waited for a long time to fulfil this wish. And finally one day, she succeeded in establishing her “own Boutique”. It is said that if you want something from your heart, then that thing is bound to happen. Let’s hear the success story from the owner herself.

ghj

1. When and how did you start this Boutique?

Answer: I always wanted to start my own Boutique and make my own collection. But, this dream got fulfilled in the year 2013 when I finally decided to start designing and preparing sarees. My husband and my daughter also supported me a lot and that became my motivation to do it in a bigger scale. And slowly people started liking my collection and they asked for new collection and that is how Shilpis Fashion Boutique was created.

DSC02408

2. Have you done any designing course?

Answer: No, I have not done any course in designing. I love to draw and design since childhood. But, I have not been into any drawing school for that.

3. Can you tell us something about your collection?

Answer: Sure, why not. See I have a wide variety of sarees, dress materials and tops. In sarees, I have a huge collection of Kantha Stitch, Reverse Kantha, Nakshi Kantha, Kashmiri Stitch, Gujrati Stitch, Madhubani Designs, Gichcha sarees, Matka (both hand print and block print), Katan Silk, Bangalore Silk, Handloom Saress, Chiffon, Georgette, Kalamkari Silk as well as Cotton, Tissue Material, Khesh Sarees and many more. I have also designed Party wear Fancy Sarees with new styles. Other than sarees, I also have dress materials in Cotton, South Cotton, Tissue, Chiffon,  Bangalore Silk and Butter Silk. Coming to the collection of Tops, I have designed these tops in an unique way. You won’t see those designs in any other Boutique.

IMG_3818    IMG_3735

4. Have you designed something special for this year’s Durga Puja collection?

Answer: Yes, I have designed a whole new collection for the upcoming Durga Puja and I think people would surely love my collection. But apart from the Pujas, I have also designed for this year’s Diwali.

5. What is the price range of your collection?

Answer: The price depends on different products and their designs. But my collection range starts from Rs. 500 upto Rs. 10,000. On special occasions, we provide special gifts to our customers.

IMG_3797

6. Have you faced any difficulty while setting up your own Boutique?

Answer: My husband and my daughter are very supportive and almost everything is taken care of by them. I won’t say that I have faced any difficulty but yes getting a proper outlet has been very difficult for me. And the search is still on. At present I am working from my home only.

7. There are so many boutiques in Kolkata. What makes your Boutique stand out from the rest of them?

Answer: I agree, that there are many boutiques in Kolkata. But I don’t think that you would get to see these designs anywhere else because my collection of Kantha Stitch and Nakshi Kantha is really rare to find. I myself have designed these and that makes my Boutique different from the others.

DSC02492

8. Do you participate in different exhibitions and events?

Answer: Yes, I do. I have participated in many exhibitions and the response was really overwhelming. I have another upcoming exhibition in September, 2015. That will be in Ice Skating Rink, Kolkata from 5th September to 7th September.

9. What is your future plan?

Answer: I want to increase my collection and reach out to a wider scale of  people who would appreciate my designs and collection.

IMG_3821

10. Any message for our readers?

Answer: I would request all of you to come and visit my upcoming exhibition. I am sure you guys would love it. I would love to get your valuable feedback and add on to my collection. 🙂

You can get in touch with Shilpi’s Fashion Boutique through their Facebook Page http://www.facebook.com/shilpisfashionboutique  and order from there. You can also contact them through their website.

Leave a Reply

